Election Timetable

Below are some of the key dates in the run up to the general election this year:

Event Date (deadline if not midnight)
Dissolution of Parliament Monday 30 March
Receipt of writ Tuesday 31 March
Publication of notice of election Not later than 4pm on Thursday 2 April
Delivery of nomination papers Between 10am and 4pm on any working day after publication of notice of election until Thursday 9 April
Deadline for delivery of nomination papers 4pm on Thursday 9 April
Deadline for withdrawals of nomination 4pm on Thursday 9 April
Making objections to nomination papers

(except for objections on the grounds that an individual candidate may be disqualified under the Representation of the People Act 1981 – see Commission guidance)

Between 10am and 12 noon on Thursday 9 April objections can be made to all delivered nominationsBetween 12 noon and 5pm on Thursday 9 April objections can only be made to nominations delivered after 4pm on Wednesday 8 April
Deadline for the notification of appointment of election agent 4pm on Thursday 9 April
Publication of statement of persons nominated, including notice of poll and situation of polling stations If no objections: at 5pm on Thursday 9 AprilObjection(s) made: not before objection(s) are disposed of but not later than 4pm on Friday 10 April
Publication of first interim election notice of alteration Thursday 9 April
Deadline for receiving applications for registration Monday 20 April
Deadline for receiving new postal vote and postal proxy applications, and for changes to existing postal or proxy votes 5pm on Tuesday 21 April
Deadline for receiving new applications to vote by proxy (not postal proxy or emergency proxies) 5pm on Tuesday 28 April
Publication of second interim election notice of alteration Between Friday 10 April and Tuesday 28 April (inclusive)
Publication of final election notice of alteration Wednesday 29 April
Deadline for notification of appointment polling and counting agents Wednesday 29 April
First date that electors can apply for a replacement for lost postal votes Thursday 30 April
Polling day 7am to 10pm on Thursday 7 May
Last time for re-issue of spoilt or lost postal votes 5pm on Thursday 7 May
Deadline for emergency proxy applications 5pm on Thursday 7 May
Last time to alter the register due to clerical error or court appeal 9pm on Thursday 7 May
Delivery of return as to election expenses If result declared on Thursday 7 May: by Thursday 11 June

If result declared on Friday 8 May: by Friday 12 June

Deadline for sending postal vote identifier rejection notices By Thursday 6 August 2015